Committee on Technology and Architecture (CTA)

  • Distribution Group:  [email protected]
  • Contact:  [email protected]
  • Standing Meeting:  2nd Thursday, 10:30 AM - 12:00 PM
  • Materials:  Request with IT Governance contact
  • Chair:  Karen O'Neill



  • Address strategic direction for infrastructure solutions that provide common core capabilities that can be utilized to support the institution’s missions. Examples include data network, voice, video and integrated communications, facilities, and data center services.
  • Ensure infrastructure solutions integrate into a unified architecture and follow the IT Governance roadmap
  • Evaluate and recommend infrastructure products and architectures for new supporting technologies and services
  • Identify Enterprise Application Architecture for UCSF and assess UCSF’s IT Applications landscape and determine which systems are:
    • Key to supporting UCSF’s mission
    • May have duplicate functionality
    • Needed to support the enterprise architecture
  • Solicit, evaluate and recommend technical architecture-related projects as candidates for the distribution of IT Roadmap funds by the ITGSC. 

For committee meeting notes visit: TBD


Membership List

Current Appointee Unit Represented
Karen O'Neill, Chair UCSF IT, Infrastructure
Ryan Ball UCSF IT, Office of the CIO
Joe Bengfort UCSF IT, CIO
Sheila Brear Faculty, Dentistry
Pierre Brickey UCSF IT, IT Strategy
Kristin Chu SOM Tech
Andrew Clark Procurement
Tom Ferris Dent/Network & Info Services
Dan Freeman Campus Life Services 
Phil Gala  Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital (ZSFG)
Tim Greer Dean's Office,  Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital (ZSFG)
Mattice Harris UCSF IT & School of Nursing
Chris Orsine UCSF IT, Solutions Architecture & Schools of Medicine & Pharmacy
Pat Phelan UCSF IT, Security
Sugako Amaski Audit Services
Sian Shumway UCSF IT, Customer Service
Peter Werba Basic Science
Jane Wong UCSF IT, Associate CIO