UCSF IT Governance operates as a collective of eight thematic subcommittees and a steering committee populated with approximately 200 members to advise on and approve policies, procedures and priorities for IT at UCSF. Its goal is to support the university’s strategic priorities and its community members to maximize their effectiveness in advancing health. IT Governance manages IT innovations funds (IT Roadmap) provided by the Budget and Investment Committee and advises the CIO and senior administration on IT initiatives and capital projects. UCSF IT governance was founded in 2000 with the creation of the Administrative Systems Advisory Committee, later evolved to include an Academic Information Systems Board (AISB) and became its current representational IT Governance structure in 2010.  The eight subcommittees include: 

UCSF IT Guiding Principles

UCSF IT Governance provides a mechanism for technology strategies to be identified, proposed, reviewed, endorsed, implemented, communicated and support in order to further the mission of the university. UCSF IT Governance embraces the values of UCSF PRIDE and leads with professionalism, respect, integrity, diversity, and excellence. These values are demonstrated through:

  • Transparency — We will be transparent in our decision-making and use of resources.
  • Communication — We have an obligation to communicate the work of IT Governance throughout the organization.
  • Accountability — Our committees are accountable for executing their charges and stewarding university resources appropriately.
  • Responsibility — We are responsible for the process of strategic IT decision making and the promotion of successful outcomes across the university.
  • Diversity & Inclusion — We promote representation in governance from all members of the UCSF community.
  • Community Focus – The needs of the UCSF community will remain a key component of all IT decisions.
  • Collaboration – We will advocate for the adoption of common IT solutions and identify opportunities for innovation and improvement that further the strategic goals of the university.
  • Data – We recognize that university data is an asset and therefore support a secure but accessible data environment.