IT Governance Steering Committee (ITGSC)


The Information Technology Governance Steering Committee (ITGSC) ensures IT services and operations align with the university’s strategic mission, vision, goals, and end-user needs. Specifically, the ITGSC will:

  • Set high-level priorities and facilitate the resolution of competing demands for IT resources. 
  • Monitor accountability for delivering IT services, infrastructure, and the IT Operating Model (ITOM) requirements.
  • Support compliance with federal, state, and university requirements/policies for information technology.
  • Support the protection of the university's digital assets. 
  • Monitor and advise on the enterprise roadmap for technical architecture.
  • Communicate IT Governance work and support evolving IT services and solutions.
  • Review and endorse enterprise IT initiatives.
  • Advocate for the adoption of common IT solutions and services.
  • Oversee and fund the IT Governance Transformation Program. 
  • Direct the activities of UCSF IT Governance Subcommittees.

The committee promotes aligning IT strategies with university priorities, risk management, value delivery, performance measures, and resource management. The committee has direct control over the use and distribution of Transformation Program Funds allocated by the Chancellor. The committee does not manage UCSF IT and departmental IT operating budgets, IT hiring and appointments, and departmental IT priority setting.

Please visit our wiki for current committee membership, meeting agenda, and presentations.