Committee on Research Technology (CRT)

  • Distribution Group:  [email protected]
  • Contact:  [email protected]  
  • Standing Meeting:  2nd Friday, 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM
  • Materials:  Request with IT Governance contact
  • Chair:  Chuck McCulloch



The Committee on Research Technology (CRT) supports the IT Governance Steering Committee by identifying technology needs of the UCSF research community and evaluating direction and progress of current technology initiatives directly related to supporting research. Specifically the CRT will:

• Identify, prioritize and recommend areas for expansion of technology utilization for the enhancement of UCSF research programs;

• Monitor and recommend sustainable research technology strategies;

• Identify UCSF analytic and integration services and technologies that can be used to enhance the research mission;

• Ensure that representatives from the CRT participate in research technology initiatives across the University of California;

• Recommend annual technology investment priorities and candidates for funding with IT Roadmap funds to the ITGSC;

• Identify, prioritize and recommend UCSF technology resources that can be leveraged to meet research goals in keeping with the university’s mission.

The committee meets for 90 minutes each month to review and discuss relevant initiatives and projects. 

Membership List

Current Appointee Unit Represented
Chuck McCulloch, Chair Epidemiology and Biostats
Joe Bengfort UCSF IT, CIO
Beth Berrean School of Medicine, Technology Services
Atul Butte Institute for Computational Health Sciences (ICHS)
Hal Collard Pulmonary and Critical Care
Adams Dudley Pulmonary and Critical Care
Thomas Ferrin Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Don Francis UCSF IT
Adam Frost Biochemistry and Biophysics
Thomas Hoffmann Epidemiology and Biostatistics/Inst Human Genetics
Sharat Israni Institute for Computational Health Sciences (ICHS)
Elsbeth Kalendarian Preventative and Restorative Dentistry
Saul Kato Neurology
Kord Kober Physiological Nursing
Rick Larsen Research Informatics
Karla Lundquist Library
Ed Martin Center for Digital Health Innovation (CDHI)
John Mongan Radiology
Aenor Sawyer Orthopaedic Surgery
Brian Smith Research Administration
Scott Vandenberg Pathology
Jen Yokoyama Neurology/Memory and Aging Center
Leslie Yuan Clinical & Translational Science Institute (CTSI)